Best Banks for Newcomers to Canada (2026): Offers Compared

📅 Last updated: October 5, 2026|Published: March 5, 2026

The best bank accounts for newcomers to Canada in 2026 split into two tiers: Big 5 newcomer packages and free digital banks. Scotiabank StartRight advertises up to $1,000 cash (up to $2,300 total value) with free monthly banking for the first year. BMO NewStart advertises up to $900 cash and 2 years of free monthly banking. TD New to Canada advertises $500 cash (up to $1,790 total value) and 1 year free. CIBC Smart for Newcomers advertises $500 cash and 2 years of free monthly banking. RBC Newcomer Advantage advertises no cash bonus on its chequing account, but 1 year of free banking and pre-arrival account opening. Free alternatives: Tangerine (no fees, no minimum balance, online only), Simplii Financial (no monthly fee, CIBC-backed) and EQ Bank (no fees, CDIC-insured, no branch). Verdict: open a Big 5 newcomer account for in-branch support and a welcome bonus, then add a no-fee online savings account once you are settled. Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026; bonuses have conditions and end dates, listed below.

Best Bank Accounts for Newcomers to Canada (2026)

Quick Answer: Best Banks for Newcomers to Canada (2026)

Additionally, This is your complete guide to best bank for newcomers to Canada. Canada’s major banks — RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO, and CIBC — all offer dedicated newcomer programs that waive monthly chequing fees for a promotional period (often 12 months, and up to 24 months at some banks) and provide a credit card with no Canadian credit history required. The best choice depends on your situation: branch proximity, whether you need to open before you arrive, and the language support you want. Because promotional offers and bonus amounts change frequently, always confirm the current terms on each bank’s official website before applying.

Key Takeaways

  • RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO, and CIBC all offer free newcomer banking packages.
  • Most newcomer packages waive monthly fees for the first 12 months.
  • You need a SIN (Social Insurance Number) to open a full Canadian bank account.
  • CDIC insures deposits up to CAD 100,000 per category at member banks.
  • This guide compares newcomer accounts by fees, features, and who qualifies.
Disclosure: This page may contain affiliate links. MoneyAbroadGuide may earn a commission if you sign up through them, at no extra cost to you. Our editorial opinions are independent. Bank offers, fees, and promotions change often — verify all current details directly with the bank.

Furthermore, Choosing a bank is one of the first practical decisions you’ll make after landing in Canada. The right account can waive monthly fees during your first year, give you access to a credit card without a Canadian credit history, and connect you to the payment infrastructure used for rent, payroll, and tax refunds. This guide explains the newcomer programs offered by Canada’s largest banks, what documents you actually need, your legal right to a basic account, and how to start building Canadian credit — all based on official sources from the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) and the banks themselves.

Your Right to a Basic Bank Account

Moreover, One of the most important — and least known — protections for newcomers is this: under federal law, banks regulated by the FCAC generally cannot refuse to open a basic personal deposit account for someone who presents valid identification, even without a credit history, a permanent Canadian address, or a Social Insurance Number.

Importantly, A bank may only refuse in limited circumstances — for example, if it reasonably believes the account will be used for illegal purposes, if the applicant has a recent history of fraud against a financial institution, or if the applicant knowingly provides false information. A valid foreign passport typically satisfies the identification requirement.

Notably, If you are refused without a valid reason, the bank must provide a written explanation, and you can file a complaint with the FCAC. All federally regulated banks must also offer a low-cost account with a modest monthly fee cap set by the FCAC, which includes a basic set of monthly transactions.

Specifically, Source: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC), “Opening a bank account.” Confirm current rules at canada.ca.

Do You Need a SIN to Open an Account?

For example, No — not for a basic account. You do not need a Social Insurance Number (SIN) to open a basic chequing account. A SIN is required only for accounts that earn interest (such as a savings account or a TFSA), because the bank must report interest income to the Canada Revenue Agency. Arriving before you’ve received your SIN is not a valid reason for a bank to refuse or delay a basic account.

However, If you have a temporary SIN beginning with the digit 9, it is valid for banking purposes. The practical path is to open a basic account on arrival, apply for your SIN at a Service Canada location, and add it to your account afterward to unlock interest-earning and registered products.

Banking Options in Canada: Big Banks, Credit Unions, and Online Banks

Therefore, Canada’s banking sector splits into three categories, and each serves a different type of newcomer.

As a result, The big banks — RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO, CIBC, and National Bank — dominate retail banking and operate the largest branch and ATM networks. For a newcomer, branch density matters: identity verification and account funding are often faster in person during the first weeks after arrival, and these banks run the most developed newcomer programs.

In fact, Credit unions are member-owned cooperatives. They typically offer lower fees and slightly better savings rates than the big banks, but their branch networks are regional and their newcomer programs are less developed. A reasonable choice once you’ve settled, rather than for your very first account. Note that provincially regulated credit unions fall under provincial deposit insurance rather than the federal CDIC.

Also, Online-only banks such as Tangerine, Simplii, and EQ Bank charge no monthly fees and generally offer higher savings rates. They work well as a second account for parking emergency funds, but they don’t fully replace the in-branch experience newcomers often need for certifying documents or accessing newcomer-specific products.

In practice, most newcomers open a chequing account at one of the big banks during their first month, then add an online savings account once they’re settled.

Newcomer Banking Programs at Canada’s Major Banks

In addition, RBC, TD, Scotiabank, BMO, CIBC, and National Bank all market dedicated programs for permanent residents, international students, and foreign workers who arrived within a recent window (the exact eligibility window varies by bank, commonly the last 12 months to 5 years). Each program typically bundles a fee-waived chequing account for a promotional period with a credit card that requires no Canadian credit history.

  • RBC Newcomer Advantage — a no-fee chequing account for the first year, a credit card with no Canadian credit history required, and international money transfer options. RBC offers the largest combined branch and ATM network in Canada.
  • TD New to Canada Banking Package — a chequing account with the monthly fee waived for a promotional period, plus a credit card available without Canadian credit history. Often chosen by international students.
  • Scotiabank StartRight — aimed at permanent residents, international students, and foreign workers in their first years in Canada, with fee waivers and a credit card available without Canadian credit history. Scotiabank also allows opening an account from abroad before arrival.
  • BMO NewStart Program — newcomer banking with fee waivers and multilingual support.
  • CIBC Smart Account for Newcomers — notable for allowing account opening before you arrive in Canada, from eligible countries, so you can fund it and pay initial costs before your first Canadian paycheck. CIBC offers one of the longer fee-waiver periods.

A note on welcome bonuses: banks advertise cash bonuses for newcomers, usually conditional on setting up a recurring direct deposit plus other account activity within the first 60 days. Amounts, conditions and end dates change often, so the figures below show what each bank displayed on October 5, 2026. Confirm the current offer on the official page before applying. For a side-by-side look at bonuses, see our related guide on newcomer bank bonuses.

CriteriaScotiabank StartRight™BMO NewStartTD New to CanadaRBC Newcomer AdvantageCIBC Smart for Newcomers
Cash bonus*Up to $1,000Up to $900$500 (+$150 with savings and card)No cash bonus on chequing$500
Total value advertisedUp to $2,300Up to $2,500Up to $1,790Not statedUp to $1,250 (with Dividend Platinum card)
Offer deadlineOct 29, 2026Not stated on page (card offer: Oct 31, 2026)Nov 2, 2026Card offer: Oct 31, 2026Not stated (Costco offer: Nov 16, 2026)
Free monthly banking1st year2 years1 year1st year2 years
Credit card featuredScotiabank Passport Visa Infinite+BMO CashBack Mastercard / eclipse rise VisaTD Cash Back Visa or TD Aeroplan Visa PlatinumRBC Cash Back MastercardCIBC Dividend Platinum Visa
Open before arrivingNot statedYes, eligible countries (up to $75,000 CAD)Only from China or India, by phoneYes, eligible countries (up to $75,000 CAD)Not stated

* Promotional bonuses with conditions (direct deposit and other account activity). Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026: Scotiabank, BMO, TD, RBC, CIBC. Amounts and deadlines change often; confirm on the bank’s site before applying.

FeatureRBC Newcomer AdvantageCIBC Smart for NewcomersBMO NewStart ProgramTD New to CanadaScotiabank StartRightNational Bank
Eligible Immigration CategoriesPR, Student, Worker permitPR, Student, Worker permitPR, Student, RefugeePR, Student, Worker permitPR, Student, Worker permitPR, Newcomer residents
Dedicated Newcomer SupportIn-branch multilingual advisorsMultilingual phone and digitalIn-branch newcomer specialistsIn-branch and digitalIn-branch and StartRight hubDigital-first support
Credit-Building PathwaySecured card + credit builderSecured card optionSecured card + RRSP accessSecured card + TFSASecured card + Scene+ rewardsSecured card available
SIN Requirement at OpeningOptional for non-interest accountsOptional for non-interest accountsOptional for non-interest accountsOptional for non-interest accountsOptional for non-interest accountsOptional for non-interest accounts

Choosing between RBC, Scotiabank and TD? We compare all three newcomer programs side by side — free banking periods, welcome bonuses and our verdict for each situation. Read the full RBC vs Scotiabank vs TD comparison →

Scotiabank StartRight™ — Best Welcome Bonus

Scotiabank advertises the highest cash bonus of the five programs we checked.

  • Bonus: up to $1,000 CAD: $700 for the chequing account, +$200 with a savings account, +$100 with a credit card. Up to $2,300 total value advertised (the detail section of the page says $2,410)
  • How to qualify: within 60 days: 1 recurring direct deposit for at least 6 months, plus 1 of: pre-authorized debit of $50+, online bill payment of $50+, or a Visa Debit purchase
  • Deadline: cash bonus Jul 3 – Oct 29, 2026; credit card bonus for accounts opened Aug 4 – Nov 1, 2026
  • Fee waiver: first year (Preferred Package, $16.95/month afterwards)
  • Credit card: Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite+ ($150 annual fee)

✅ Highest advertised cash bonus
❌ Deadline Oct 29    ❌ Free banking for 1 year only

Best for: Newcomers who want the largest welcome bonus and will set up direct deposit quickly.
Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026 (scotiabank StartRight offer).


BMO NewStart Program — Best Long-Term Fee Waiver

BMO advertises 24 months of free monthly banking and lets eligible newcomers open an account before arriving.

  • Bonus: up to $900 CAD cash; up to $2,500 total value advertised. The page does not show the cash-bonus conditions or end date (the FAQ mentions online bill payments of $50+ on 2 consecutive months)
  • Fee waiver: 2 years (Performance Plan, $17.95/month afterwards)
  • Pre-arrival: yes, residents of a qualifying country can transfer up to $75,000 CAD before leaving
  • Credit card: BMO CashBack Mastercard (5% cash back for 3 months, up to $125; offer ends Oct 31, 2026) or BMO eclipse rise Visa

✅ 2 years free banking    ✅ Pre-arrival opening
❌ Bonus conditions not shown on the page

Best for: Newcomers who want the longest fee-free window and a pre-arrival account.
Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026 (bmo.com newcomer offers).


TD New to Canada — Best for International Students

TD advertises a $500 cash bonus and a package that bundles a chequing account with a credit card.

  • Bonus: $500 CAD, +$150 when you add a savings account and a credit card; up to $1,790 total value advertised
  • How to qualify: 2 of: recurring direct deposit, online bill payment of $50+, pre-authorized debit of $50+; transactions must be recorded before Jan 4, 2027
  • Deadline: Nov 2, 2026
  • Fee waiver: 1 year (TD Unlimited Chequing, valued at $215.40)
  • Credit card: TD Cash Back Visa (up to $150) or TD Aeroplan Visa Platinum (20,000 points, first-year $89 fee waived)
  • Pre-arrival: only from China or India, by phone, with in-branch activation within 75 days

✅ Cash bonus plus card options
❌ Free banking for 1 year only    ❌ Pre-arrival opening limited to China and India

Best for: International students and workers who want a simple package with a card included.
Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026 (td.com banking offers for newcomers).


RBC Newcomer Advantage — Best Branch Network

RBC has Canada’s largest branch and ATM network, which matters for in-person service during your first weeks. It does not advertise a cash bonus on the chequing account.

  • Bonus: no cash bonus shown on the chequing account page. Up to 30,000 Avion points mentioned for pre-arrival customers
  • Deadline: credit card offer ends Oct 31, 2026
  • Fee waiver: first year (Advantage Banking, $12.95/month afterwards)
  • Credit card: RBC Cash Back Mastercard ($0 annual fee, up to 12% cash back for 3 months)
  • Pre-arrival: yes, eligible countries, arrival within 12 months, up to $75,000 CAD transferable

✅ Pre-arrival opening    ✅ Largest branch + ATM network
❌ No cash bonus on chequing

Best for: Newcomers who need frequent in-person branch access.
Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026 (rbcroyalbank.com Newcomer Advantage).


CIBC Smart for Newcomers — Best Value Over 2 Years

CIBC advertises 2 years of free monthly banking and a $500 cash bonus for newcomers aged 25 and over.

  • Bonus: $500 CAD; up to $1,250 total value with the Dividend Platinum card
  • How to qualify: within 60 days: 1 recurring direct deposit of $500+ per month, plus 1 of: 2 pre-authorized debits, 2 bill payments of $50+, or 5 Visa Debit purchases in the same month. 25 and over only
  • Deadline: $500 bonus started Jan 22, 2026, end date not stated; Costco offer Aug 17 – Nov 16, 2026
  • Fee waiver: 2 years ($16.95/month afterwards, or $0 under conditions)
  • Credit card: CIBC Dividend Platinum Visa

✅ 2 years free banking    ✅ $500 cash bonus
❌ Bonus limited to age 25+    ❌ Requires $500+ monthly direct deposit

Best for: Newcomers with a steady paycheque who want a long fee-free window.
Offers checked on each bank’s official page on October 5, 2026 (cibc.com newcomer offers).


Chequing and Savings Accounts Explained

Most newcomers eventually hold two accounts: a chequing account for daily transactions and a savings account for emergency funds.

Chequing accounts handle bill payments, e-transfers, debit purchases, and direct deposits, and typically pay little to no interest. Watch for two common fee triggers: monthly transaction limits and minimum balance requirements. During your newcomer fee-waiver window, you should be paying nothing on your primary chequing account. After the promotional period ends, standard monthly fees apply unless you maintain a qualifying balance — so it’s worth noting when your waiver expires.

Savings accounts earn higher interest but aren’t designed for frequent transactions. Online banks generally offer noticeably higher savings rates than the big banks’ standard savings accounts. Because rates change constantly, this guide doesn’t quote specific figures — for a current comparison, see our guide to the best high-interest savings accounts for newcomers.

How to Open Your First Canadian Bank Account

The process is more straightforward than it appears. Banks require original identification documents — photocopies are generally not accepted.

Documents to bring:

  • Valid passport
  • Proof of immigration status: PR card, Confirmation of Permanent Residence (COPR), work permit, or study permit
  • Social Insurance Number (SIN) — needed for interest-earning accounts, not for a basic chequing account
  • Proof of a Canadian address where available (rental agreement, utility bill, or a letter from an employer or settlement agency)

Many banks are flexible with newcomers who don’t yet have a permanent address, sometimes accepting a temporary address or a settlement-agency letter. If you’re an international student, bring your study permit and proof of enrolment.

Pre-arrival account opening is advertised by BMO and RBC for eligible countries (up to $75,000 CAD can be transferred before you arrive). TD offers it only from China or India, by phone. Check CIBC and Scotiabank directly. Pre-arrival accounts let you transfer settlement funds and pay initial rent before your first appointment in Canada.

In-person vs. online: an in-branch appointment gives you immediate access to a debit card, while online applications verify your identity remotely and mail the card. For your first Canadian account, in-person is often the smoother path.

Building Canadian Credit in Your First Year

Canadian credit scores range from 300 to 900 and are tracked by Equifax and TransUnion. As a newcomer you start with no Canadian history — which most credit models read as “unknown” rather than “bad.” That distinction is exactly why newcomer credit cards exist.

Unsecured newcomer credit cards are available without Canadian credit history through the major banks’ newcomer programs. Credit limits vary by applicant and product, so confirm your offer with the bank rather than relying on a headline figure.

Secured credit cards are the fallback if a newcomer application is declined: you place a refundable deposit that sets your credit limit, and the card reports to both bureaus like any other. They’re a reliable way to establish history from zero.

Three habits accelerate your score in the first year: keep your balance below about 30% of your limit, pay the full statement balance every month, and avoid applying for several new credit products at once. For a full walkthrough, see our guide to building credit in Canada from zero.

International Money Transfers for Newcomers

Most newcomers move funds from their home country during the first few months. The big banks offer SWIFT wire transfers, but their exchange-rate margins are typically wider than those of specialized providers, so it’s worth comparing before sending a large amount.

Specialized providers such as Wise, Remitly, OFX, and XE generally offer tighter exchange rates and lower fees than a traditional bank wire. Wise uses the mid-market rate with a transparent fee; Remitly is optimized for speed on common remittance corridors; OFX is often used for larger transfers; XE offers strong rate-monitoring tools. For a very large one-off transfer (for example, proceeds from selling property abroad), it can be worth also requesting a quote from your home bank’s FX desk. Always compare two quotes before sending.

Compare before you send. Wise typically offers the mid-market exchange rate with a transparent fee, while most big-bank wires add a 2–4% spread. Check the live rate for your corridor in seconds — no account required to see a quote.

Check today’s Wise rate →
MoneyAbroadGuide may earn a commission if you open a Wise account via this link, at no extra cost to you.

Deposit Insurance: Is Your Money Safe?

Deposits at federally regulated banks are protected by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) up to $100,000 per depositor, per insured category, per member institution. A chequing account and a savings account at the same bank fall under separate categories and are insured separately. CDIC covers eligible deposits such as chequing, savings, and GICs — it does not cover stocks, ETFs, or mutual funds. Provincially regulated credit unions are covered by provincial deposit insurance instead, which often has different (sometimes higher) limits.

Source: Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, cdic.ca.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which bank is best for newcomers to Canada?

There’s no single best bank — it depends on your profile. RBC has the widest branch and ATM network. Scotiabank StartRight advertises the highest cash bonus, and BMO and CIBC offer 2 years of free monthly banking. BMO and RBC advertise pre-arrival account opening. Compare branch proximity, fee-waiver length, language support, and the current welcome offer on each bank’s official site.

Can I open a Canadian bank account before I move?

Yes, with some banks. BMO and RBC advertise pre-arrival opening for residents of eligible countries, with up to $75,000 CAD transferable before you leave; TD offers it only from China or India. Check the bank’s page for your country, because eligibility varies.

Do I need a SIN to open a bank account?

No, not for a basic account. Federally regulated banks must open a basic personal deposit account for anyone with valid ID, even without a SIN. A SIN is required for interest-earning accounts (savings, TFSA) so the bank can report interest to the CRA. A temporary SIN beginning with 9 is valid for banking.

Can newcomers get a credit card with no Canadian credit history?

Yes. Every major-bank newcomer program includes a credit card available without Canadian credit history, subject to the bank’s eligibility criteria. If you don’t qualify, secured credit cards are widely available with a refundable deposit equal to your limit.

How long does it take to build a Canadian credit score?

Most newcomers reach a usable score within roughly 6 to 12 months on a single well-managed credit card, and the excellent range typically takes a couple of years of consistent, on-time payments and low utilization.

Are international transfers cheaper through a bank or a specialized provider?

For most transfers, specialized providers like Wise, OFX, and Remitly are usually cheaper than a big-bank wire, thanks to tighter exchange-rate margins and lower fees. For a very large one-off transfer, compare your home bank’s FX desk as well.

Should I keep a bank account in my home country after moving?

Often yes, at least for the first couple of years. A home-country account simplifies receiving final payments, handling existing obligations, and managing currency while you settle. Closing it later is easy; reopening it from Canada is not.

The Bottom Line

For most newcomers, the practical path is to open a fee-waived newcomer chequing account at one of the big banks during your first month — chosen for branch proximity and, if you need it, pre-arrival opening — then add a no-fee online savings account once you’re settled. Bring your passport and immigration documents, remember that a basic account doesn’t require a SIN, and confirm the current welcome offer and fee-waiver length directly on the bank’s website, since these change often. From there, a newcomer credit card is your first step toward a Canadian credit history.

Related Guides

This guide on best bank for newcomers to Canada is updated for 2026. Bookmark it for reference.

Important Disclaimer

This content is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice. MoneyAbroadGuide.com is not a licensed financial advisor. Bank programs, fees, promotional offers, welcome bonuses, and eligibility criteria change frequently and vary by institution — always verify current details directly with the bank before making a decision. Your right to a basic bank account and deposit-insurance coverage are governed by the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) and the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC); confirm current rules at canada.ca and cdic.ca.

What is the best bank account for newcomers to Canada in 2026?

It depends on what you value. Scotiabank StartRight advertises the highest cash bonus (up to $1,000, deadline Oct 29, 2026). BMO NewStart and CIBC Smart for Newcomers advertise 2 years of free monthly banking. RBC has the largest branch network and advertises pre-arrival opening. Offers checked on official bank pages on October 5, 2026; confirm before applying.

Can I open a bank account in Canada without a SIN?

Yes. All major Canadian banks (CIBC, Scotiabank, TD, RBC, BMO) let you open an account with a valid passport and visa alone — no SIN required at the branch. Apply for your SIN at Service Canada after arrival; it usually arrives within 5 business days.

Which Canadian bank has the best newcomer bonus in 2026?

As advertised on October 5, 2026: Scotiabank up to $1,000 cash (deadline Oct 29, 2026), BMO up to $900 cash (end date not stated), TD $500 cash (deadline Nov 2, 2026), CIBC $500 cash (end date not stated, age 25+). RBC advertises no cash bonus on its chequing account. Bonuses usually require a recurring direct deposit plus other account activity within 60 days.

Talal Eddaouahiri

About Talal Eddaouahiri

Founder & Financial Writer at MoneyAbroadGuide.com. A Moroccan immigrant who settled in the United States in 2015, Talal opened bank accounts and built credit from zero in both the US and Canada. His background is in retail banking and customer relations, and he writes independent, source-based guides (FCAC, FINTRAC, OSFI, CRA, IRS, CDIC) to help newcomers navigate their first financial steps. Read his full profile →

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top